Skip to main content
Farm Credit Mid-America 2024 Board of Directors and Nominating Committee Elections Now Open Click here for more information

Ohio Nominating Committee Election

Candidates running to join the Nominating Committee in Ohio in 2024.

Luke Durbin


Durbin is a full-time grain farmer with his father at Durbin Farms LLC, in Tuscarawas County. They produce 2,400 acres of wheat, corn, soybeans and forage hay annually. In addition, Luke and his wife Kayla operate Durbin Land & Cattle where they raise 50 Simmental cow/calf pairs. He is involved in the daily business regarding purchasing inputs, marketing and land purchase agreements for the sustainability and active ROI of the operation. Luke and Kayla currently serve as chairs on the Young Ag Professionals Committee for Ohio Farm Bureau. He is on the Advisory Committee for the Indian Valley FFA as well as an active member of the Coshocton County Farm Bureau.

Charlie Ellington


Ellington has a beef, grain, hay, and dairy operation, farming 32 owned and 270 leased acres. His operations also include selling hogs, broilers, eggs, and beef direct to consumers. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from The Ohio State University and, in addition to his farming operations, works as the Senior Nutritionist for Heritage Cooperative. He is a member of Farm Bureau, the Stark County Cattlemen’s Association, Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, National Cattlemen’s Association, and the Soybean Association. Ellington has previously served as a member of Farm Credit Mid-America’s Nominating Committee.

Beth Ellis


Ellis owns 1,600 acres, leases 5,900 acres, and has farmed full-time since 1996, primarily producing corn and soybeans but including wheat and sorghum for cover. Ellis also owns/operates a 640-acre pheasant hunting preserve licensed by the ODNR. Ellis is the preserve’s full-time manager, responsible for duties including HR/payroll, accounting, employee safety compliance, licensing and property management. She also is the vice-chair of the Clinton County Port Authority and President of Operation Cherrybend. Ellis was previously president of the Clinton County Farm Bureau and served as a board member on the Clinton County Visitors Bureau.

John Hummel


Hummel is a full-time farmer and co-manager of his family farm raising corn and soybeans on 3,400 acres for the past 15 years. He has an Associate’s Degree in Business and in 2022 was awarded Outstanding Young Farmer by the Ohio Farm Bureau. Hummel is married and has two young sons. He is a member of the Farm Credit Mid-America Advocate Council and has served on the Farm Credit Mid-America Nominating Committee. Hummel serves as President of the Franklin County Farm Bureau, formerly serving as Trustee. He served as Treasurer of David Evangelical Lutheran Church.

Ellen Joslin


Joslin has farmed for over 40 years. She grows corn and soybeans on 660 owned acres. She is a current member, and has previously served as the President, of the Shelby County Farm Bureau. Joslin has 9 years’ experience serving on the Ohio Soybean Council, 14 years served on the Ohio Farm Bureau State Board and 3 years served on the Ag Trade Advisory Committee for the USDA. She was also a former Advisory Committee member for Farm Credit Mid-America.

Lisa Peterson


Peterson is a partner in Peterson Farms, a 3,000 acre row-crop farm where they raise corn, soybeans, and wheat. Additionally, Peterson owns and operates a paint & craft party business, SageTree Studio, and an online Etsy storefront, Grassy Branch Farm. She is a member of the Ohio 4-H Foundation Board, Fayette County Farm Bureau Board, Fayette County Republican Women’s Club, Life Pregnancy Board member and Treasurer of Peterson for Good Government Campaign Committee. Peterson has served on the Farm Credit Mid-America Nominating Committee and Farm Credit Mid-America Advocate Council.

Sean Rittinger


Rittinger has over 30 years of farm operations management experience. He has a corn and soybean farm where he owns 693 acres and leases 200 acres. He has 15 years in the corporate seed sales business. He has 9 years as a small business owner with his full-service seed sales business, where he manages employees and distribution steams, and includes seed, treatment and precision agriculture tools. He is a member of the Fairfield County Farm Bureau and serves on the Boards of the Ohio Corn & Wheat Board and the AGS Foundation Board. He is the past President of Pickaway County Farmers’ Club and a Deacon for Mount Carmel UCC. He also has served as a member of the Farm Credit Mid-America Advisory Board.

Tom Steck


Steck owns 100 acres and leases 450 acres growing corn, soybeans, wheat and barley. He has management experience, including leading employees, in transportation services for a school district, a lumber yard and Carolina Holdings. He is a member of Montgomery County Education group, Committee Chairperson for Farm Service Agency and a member of the Kiwanis of Brookville. He has participated as a Farm Credit Mid-America Advocate Council Member since 2018.

Eric Tipton


Tipton is a farmer, seed representative and a Precision Ag Sales Technician. He has worked on a farming operation most of his life and in 2018 was given the opportunity to acquire Ricketts Farm with his wife Lauryn in Jeffersonville, OH. They recently purchased the operation on which they raise corn, soybeans, wheat and triticale. Tipton also owns and operates Progressive Edge Ag Service, a seed/precision ag business covering the southern half of Ohio. He currently serves on the Ohio Corn & Wheat Association Board and PAC Board.

Mike Wolfe


Wolfe has operated the family grain farm since graduating from The Ohio State University in 1989. He has 600 acres owned and 900 acres leased where he grows corn, soybeans, wheat and hay. In conjunction with his row crop operation, he has run a farrow to finish hog operation and an excavating and farm drainage business. He is a trustee for the Thurston Methodist Church and on the Board of the Fairfield County Farm Bureau. He has previously held several offices with the Walnut TWP Zoning Board and the Fairfield County SWCD Board. He is currently a member of the Advocate Council for Farm Credit Mid-America and was on the Association’s Advisory Committee until 2018.